• 34
  • 1438

Red Hot Chili Peppers -I'm With You

Image For Red Hot Chili Peppers - I'm With You

If we were to look over the Chili Peppers catalogue, the new record I’m With You stands out like a sore thumb. The reason for this, is the lack of John Frusciante on the guitar, which yes, the Peppers have endured before on 1995’s One Hot Minute, but the ring in for that period, Dave Navarro, was able to bring his own personality into the fold and even the scales. The new axe man, Josh Klinghoffer, seems to be there just to fill a spot on the line-up, providing guitar parts where necessary that “will do,” letting the rhythm section drive the majority of the songs.

Luckily the rhythm section in question is Chad Smith and Flea, who both step up to the plate and use this predicament as a moment to shine making them the standout elements of the record. Anthony Kiedis seems to be in a rut, never really stepping out of his little box except for the off kilter rhythms of Ethiopia and the sporadic moments of Even You Brutus? which musically sounds like the Peppers covering a Maroon 5 song during its verses.

Flea’s bass lines drive tracks like the openers Monarchy Of Roses and Factory Of Faith whilst Chad Smith’s simple but solid drum patterns are frequently the most interesting parts, especially on album highlight Did I Let You Know. The rhythm powerhouses come together on the album’s first single The Adventures Of Rain Dance Maggie which features a direct groove with layered funk.

Whilst the feel of the record is pretty mellow the group’s funk roots shine through whenever possible. Long time Chili producer Rick Rubin is along for the ride, but the lack of memorable moments as whole however means that I’m With You is ultimately a let down. The Chili Peppers are really at the end of their tether and whilst they are still capable of producing some quality music, it’s probably time to call it a day.

Comments

www.fasterlouder.com.au arrow left
41516
shaun4891

shaun4891 said on the 15th Sep, 2011

why call it a day when they can still make quality music? dumb

Patrick_Marlin_27

Patrick_Marlin_27 said on the 15th Sep, 2011

shaun, they aren't making quality music. to whoever wrote this article, who are you to say that frusciante held the band together? sure, californiacation and blood sugar were great albums, but by the way and stadium arcadium were not. sure, one hot minute didn't sell big, but if you actually bothered to listen to the album through, you might find that it's a lot better than your stupid prediction say so. navarro added a few nice vibes to the chili's sound. if you want to go into comparison on how navarro destoryed the sound that frusciante helped create, why not talk about how frusciante destroyed the sound of slovak, who might i mention was the bands best guitarist by far

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 15th Sep, 2011

Great, someone posts an RHCP article and out rolls the 'tard convention.

David_Grr

David_Grr said on the 15th Sep, 2011

lukeonfire - for a reviewer, you're one hell of singer (see pic).enjoy your free cd but please, hand in your crayon or whatever you attempted to write this ham-fisted 'review' with and go learn to write ...

berlinchair101

berlinchair101 said on the 15th Sep, 2011

They have so many records and only about three of them are good.

grattan

grattan said on the 15th Sep, 2011

To quote Nick Cave - “I’m forever near a stereo saying, ‘What the fuck is this garbage?’ And the answer is always the Red Hot Chili Peppers.”

tyler07

tyler07 said on the 15th Sep, 2011

I think RHCP would perhaps be my pick for most overrated band ever considering their popularity, success and the volume of music they've released that is actually of quality (hint: the volume is quite low).

Slip_dog

Slip_dog said on the 15th Sep, 2011

This is a shit article.

sarcasm_mister

sarcasm_mister said on the 15th Sep, 2011

once my favourite band now they just make me cringe.

LukeONfire

LukeONfire said on the 15th Sep, 2011

i'm gonna assume that "david_grrr" is over the age of 45.

Braveheart81

Braveheart81 said on the 15th Sep, 2011



This is exactly how I feel.

My favourite band from the early '90s right through to the early '00s and now they're just absolutely cringeworthy.

Anyone who still thinks that what they're doing is good is absolutely kidding themselves.

LukeONfire

LukeONfire said on the 15th Sep, 2011

also have any of the people who are posting negative comments about the review actually even listened to this record? i'm yet to read a comment about the actual musical content of this album. i think you are just defending the chilli peppers because it's the chilli peppers.

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 15th Sep, 2011

I've listened to the album. It's a lot better than I thought it was going to be, but that's not saying all that much.

The Visible Choirboy

The Visible Choirboy said on the 16th Sep, 2011

i think this review is well written and does exactly what it should - critique the music that the chilli peppers are currently producing. it's not a debate about how great they were or weren't 10 years ago, it's about the quality of their music right now. so as i'm with you is somewhat lack lustre i agree with lukeonfire!

David_Grr

David_Grr said on the 16th Sep, 2011

luke? age is irrelevant. this review sucks. and chili is spelt with one l.
fasterlouder - bringing you the news, two days after it's posted on nme.

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 16th Sep, 2011

Someone lock this. It's only going to get worse.

berlinchair101

berlinchair101 said on the 16th Sep, 2011

The longer it goes on the worse it gets, much like the Chili Peppers.

Braveheart81

Braveheart81 said on the 16th Sep, 2011



Huh?

These threads usually bring out the comedy gold.

therat

therat said on the 16th Sep, 2011

This is your bread and butter mabba, get in there son!

ThatDude123

ThatDude123 said on the 16th Sep, 2011



http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lk5rb5wvyG1qatvh1.gif

sarahanne

sarahanne said on the 16th Sep, 2011

Dickheads aside, this album is terrible.

grattan

grattan said on the 16th Sep, 2011



Sorry for not reporting on overseas news before it breaks overseas. Boy do we suck.

Oh, and why is anyone surprised or outraged by the idea that a damn Chili Peppers album sucks?

hedonism gibbon

hedonism gibbon said on the 16th Sep, 2011

This is exactly how I feel.

My favourite band from the early '90s right through to the early '00s and now they're just absolutely cringeworthy.

Anyone who still thinks that what they're doing is good is absolutely kidding themselves.


the problem with the chilis is that I got old, and they got older... yawn

sarcasm_mister

sarcasm_mister said on the 16th Sep, 2011

say what you like about the talents of flea, josh and chad on the album. but if anyone thinks anthony's contribution to this album is anything but pathetic you're insanity is beyond the point of no return.

oldgregg

oldgregg said on the 16th Sep, 2011

Sorry for not reporting on overseas news before it breaks overseas. Boy do we suck.

Oh, and why is anyone surprised or outraged by the idea that a damn Chili Peppers album sucks?

I'm with you.

oldgregg

oldgregg said on the 16th Sep, 2011

[youtube]hEi4I6UWuDQ[/youtube]

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 18th Sep, 2011



Much better/consistent discography than RHCP. Also have many more classic albums in their canon.

KrysBrink

KrysBrink said on the 18th Sep, 2011

i thought this was a good review, except for the last line.

flea and chad produce some fine moments, but anthony lets the whole thing down with dreary melodies and lyrics. josh doesn't really add his own flavour unfortunately. he sounds like he's standing in the far corner of the room, playing and hoping no one will notice he's not frusciante. it's a shame, because he is a great musician and could have really stepped up. it must be tough for him, probably thinking there's a huge weight of expectation, whereas the other guys (and some fl members) obviously don't really care.

Jose Cuervo

Jose Cuervo said on the 18th Sep, 2011

Anthony should go back to acting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ekHcxo-Ziiw

ThatDude123

ThatDude123 said on the 18th Sep, 2011

Flea should go back to acting. His bit part in Back to the Future was immense.

Stefan Beck

Stefan Beck said on the 19th Sep, 2011

Don't forget The Big Lebowski!

daveyac8881

daveyac8881 said on the 19th Sep, 2011

As disappointing as RHCP were when I saw them live, they blew away with ease any of the crap U2 pulled out at ANZ last year, except for maybe Jay-Z

Saying Frusciante held the band together is ridiculous.