• 44
  • 6708

About the Author

Cut Copy - In GhostColours

Image For Cut Copy - In Ghost Colours

It’s been a while since Cut Copy released their world-conquering debut Bright Like Neon Love, but the Modular wunderkids are finally back with the follow up In Ghost Colours – and they’re looking to step things up a notch. Barely in the country to unveil it with a few shows at the V Festival nationally, they’ll be heading back overseas for a solid block of international touring that’ll go on for who knows how long. With that much pressure on the trio, you’d better hope that their follow up has the substance to warrant all the attention; we’ve certainly been made to wait long enough. So what’s the verdict?

As expected, In Ghost Colours is again an album that draws together the sweaty live energy of an indie rock gig with the synths and bleeps of house and electronica, along with the ever-present 80s influence and now, even a dash of 60s psychedelia thrown in for good measure. But ultimately, all this is just a distraction: what’s really gonna grab people here is the emotion-drenched pop melodies. We’ve already had a taste from the singles Lights and Music, So Haunted and of course, last year’s euphoric Hearts on Fire; but this tendency towards powerful harmonies is even more pronounced on the album. And it definitely sets them apart: all too often the bands that embraced the indie/electro sound also brought with it a – œtoo-cool-for school’ attitude, an aloof sense of New Wave detachment; but there’s none of that here. When was the last time you were genuinely moved and swept up in the choruses of an indie/dance band? That’s what’s in store with In Ghost Colours.

But then again, all those exhilarating melodies wouldn’t have nearly as much impact if the execution wasn’t so clever, and also just a little bent. As guitarist Tim Hoey said in a recent interview, “We kind of like it when pop music gets a little weird.” And frontman Dan Whitford’s vocals are so much more expressive and involving than what anybody would have thought he was capable of: you’re never quite sure where he’s gonna take you next, and he’s largely responsible for the album’s haunting undertone, though you can never quite put your finger on what it is. But helping this along is Cut Copy’s distinct blending of indie rock and electronica, in ways that are often unexpected and unpredictable. In a similar fashion to Bright Like Neon Love, it’s about more than just throwing in an electro bassline and a few handclaps behind a chunky guitar riff. Straightforward rock songs like Unforgettable Season sit comfortably alongside brazen club tunes like Out There on the Ice and of course Hearts on Fire, along with even a few ambient interludes that build the tension beautifully. It’s this combination which makes for an album that’s surprisingly deep, varied and gripping.

But as mentioned before, it’s the pop choruses that lie at the heart of In Ghost Colours. Interestingly, all of these songs would have worked with your standard guitar/bass/drums combo, but what sets them apart is how all the different musical elements lock together so effortlessly. And the So Haunted single makes for a great case study of that: the wailing guitars that open the song, the electro synths present in the mix without needing to dominate, the shrill guitar solo that breaks out in the middle along with that chorus: part of you might be cringing on how close it borders on being cheesy, but trying to resist humming along is just a waste of time.

So what have we got here? Genius songwriting, an inventive and creative approach to musicality along with a heavy dose of slick studio polish. It’s got it all basically, and while on the surface it’s very much a rock/pop album, lovers of deeper sounds and glitchier electronic music will find plenty to enjoy here. Like a lot of other people perhaps, I was expecting something that was catchy and easy to listen to; but the sum of all the album’s different parts is something that’s a lot more involving than that. Bright Like Neon Love may have been memorable, but this blasts it out of the water. An emotional rush from beginning to end, In Ghost Colours delivers way more than we’ve come to expect from the indie/electro movement. Best album of ‘08 so far.

Have a look at the tracklisting…

1 Feel the Love
2 Out There on the Ice
3 Lights & Music
4 We Fight for Diamonds
5 Unforgettable Season
6 Cold Youth
7 Midnight Runner
8 So Haunted
9 Voices in Quartz
10 Hearts on Fire
11 Far Away
12 Silver Thoughts
13 Strangers in the Wind
14 Visions
15 Nobody Lost, Nobody Found
16 Eternity One Night Only

And check out the clip for _Lights & Music_…

Comments

www.fasterlouder.com.au arrow left
13316
Hernandez

Hernandez said on the 20th Mar, 2008

awesome review mate. Been waiting for this album for so long. I was worth the wait!

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 20th Mar, 2008

this album has take way to long to come out.

but im still very excited to buy it on saturday :)

DekarTyphon

DekarTyphon said on the 20th Mar, 2008

it's not bad!

this surprised me

DekarTyphon

DekarTyphon said on the 22nd Mar, 2008

I'm not huge on Cut Copy.

I am huge on Tim Goldsworthy though, he added quite a bit.

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 24th Mar, 2008

As much as I don't like them, at least they're better than Van She.

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 25th Mar, 2008

yeah but you like linkin park

MurmuR

MurmuR said on the 25th Mar, 2008

I am digging this album like a desperate man in Lightning Ridge! Great review too. I was a little cautious about the rerecording of Hearts On Fire, thinking it should have stayed as an EP, but after several listens I'm glad it's on there.

Poor old Van She just miss the mark compared to Cut Copy. Their Tech remixes however are some of the best reworkings I've heard.

MurmuR out.

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 25th Mar, 2008



Get some originality; you say that every time. Either them or Korn.

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 25th Mar, 2008

yeah but im just concerned for you MAB :)

p.s. how can you love the presets so much but not like cut copy?

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 25th Mar, 2008

No need to be concerned, mate; not as if I think LP are da bst bnd evar.

I enjoy The Presets music a lot more, I think they're a lot more interesting and less derivative. Cut Copy just aren't my thing, save Going Nowhere and maybe Hearts on Fire.
I may give this album a go, but yeah.

DekarTyphon

DekarTyphon said on the 25th Mar, 2008

The Presets are just as derivative you fool. At least Cut Copy released a Fabric comp and didn't help write Young Modern.

saimagizzle

saimagizzle said on the 25th Mar, 2008



I like The Presets, but that is such a fair call on anything they do. Ever.

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 26th Mar, 2008



What the hell is a Fabric comp?
Anyway, neither the Presets or Cut Copy are that original, of course, but I still see The Presets making more ambitious and original music out of the two.

For the record, Kim had nothing to do with Young Modern, it was only Julian who co-wrote a couple of the songs.

Super Browny

Super Browny said on the 26th Mar, 2008

A Fabric Comp is Fabric Live...a great compilation series done by dance/hip hop acts. Check em out.

DekarTyphon

DekarTyphon said on the 27th Mar, 2008

I don't care The Presets are artfags who care more about what they wear than what they write there I said it I was trying to be nice.

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 27th Mar, 2008

Replace The Presets with Van She or Klaxons and we've got a deal.

MurmuR

MurmuR said on the 28th Mar, 2008

Van She are just not that good. At least the presets' electro by numbers is still decent music.

MurmuR

MurmuR said on the 28th Mar, 2008

Klaxons are good. We'll see about the sophmore.

dkos

dkos said on the 28th Mar, 2008



I'll take SHITDISCO any day of any week.

MurmuR

MurmuR said on the 28th Mar, 2008

Marg gusting unsat...

MurmuR

MurmuR said on the 28th Mar, 2008

Marginal, gusting un satisfactory. ie. not great - getting worse.

NiteShok

NiteShok said on the 28th Mar, 2008

The Cut Copy album is a solid piece of work, no doubt. I'm surprised that I like it so much. Lights & Music is a completely uninspired rip-off of Hearts on Fire, but there's some pretty strong tracks on the album. So Haunted is well-placed in the mix. I like the fact that the album runs together with continual noise.

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 20th Jun, 2008

anyone going to/working at the enmore show?

dkos

dkos said on the 20th Jun, 2008

I shall be. (Working)

MorningAfterboy

MorningAfterboy said on the 20th Jun, 2008

I wouldn't mind going. But cannae afford it.

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 20th Jun, 2008

give me beer dkos haha. but seriously. ill probably be the one of the few drugless people.

dkos

dkos said on the 20th Jun, 2008



I won't be on the bar unfortunately.

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 20th Jun, 2008

haha i wasnt serious? where abouts will you work? if i can see you i might come introduce myself.

Dexter Ramone

Dexter Ramone said on the 21st Jun, 2008

I might be there for cut copy, I have prior engagements elsewhere so I have to miss out on Juan Maclean which I am spewing about.

dkos

dkos said on the 21st Jun, 2008



Not sure yet man, will probably be one of the main doors or on one of the columns just through the main doors though.

Dexter Ramone

Dexter Ramone said on the 21st Jun, 2008

I asked Chris to put you on back lane Tom lol.

I'm having a 'albums that are better than in ghost colours day' today, as I relax in the enmore cafe smirking at people working harder than I.
Daft Punk - Homework is on now, chk chk chk had a run, as did Ratatat.

dkos

dkos said on the 22nd Jun, 2008

They finished so much earlier than they were supposed to!

I was still on my break!

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 22nd Jun, 2008

so cut
i bought that stupid

CUT
COPY

*picture of a stereo*

shirt

i hate being drunk and spending money.

dkos

dkos said on the 22nd Jun, 2008

so cut
i bought that stupid

CUT
COPY

*picture of a stereo*

shirt

i hate being drunk and spending money.

Haha very nice.

I have to say - they had some of the worst merchandise that I have seen for a long time.

dkos

dkos said on the 22nd Jun, 2008



They were bland and boring anyway.
As were The Shocking Pinks.

DekarTyphon

DekarTyphon said on the 22nd Jun, 2008

oh sweet, glad i didn't go then

they were my main interest in attending anyway

mooney88

mooney88 said on the 22nd Jun, 2008

yeah didnt do anything for me either

DekarTyphon

DekarTyphon said on the 22nd Jun, 2008

lame, on record they are both wonderful