About the Author

Image for Fontaine takes WAM Song of the Year award

Fontaine takes WAM Song of theYear award

Josh Fontaine scored WA music’s top songwriting honour last night, taking the Grand Prize at the WAM Song of the Year ceremony last night.

Fontaine’s Holidayz overcame tunes penned by the likes of Schvendes, The Bank Holidays and The Waifs to take the overall prize, awarded for the best song written by a West Australian this year.

SunDirtWater, by The Waifs’ Vicki Thorn was the winner of the inaugural Professional award, ousting a star-studded field that also included Katy Steele, John Butler, Snowman and Bob Evans. The Bank Holidays’ There is a Room On Hold won the award for Best Love Song and Kill Teen Angst won Best Rock Song while Schvendes’ Bring Out Your Dead came out on top in the Mixed Bag Category.

WAM Song of the Year winners 2007:

Gospel: Paul Morrison – My Hallelujah
Jazz: Adrian Kelly – Curious Yellow
Country: Polly Medlen – Take Me With You
Urban: Glen Foreman, Scott Griffiths and Alex Plant – Get By
Electronic/dance: Hayley McLennan and Simon Sieradzki – Hot Property
Indigenous: Jason Bartlett and Phillip Bartlett – Kick the Monkey
World and Folk: Jessie Lloyd and Della Rae Morrison – Moodjebing
Regional: Polly Medlen – Two Months
Love: James Crombie and Wibekke Reczek – There is a Room On Hold
Blues & roots: Craig Sinclair – Lara Clare
Primary: Madi MacDougall and Erika McKay – Valley of Flowers
Lower secondary: Jordi Davieson – Wishing On a Star
Upper secondary: Timothy Nelson – Overcast Day
Mixed bag: Rachael Dease, Tristen Parr, Ant Gray, Tara John and Greg Hosking – Bring Out Your Dead
Rock: Scott Tomlinson, Greg Sanders, Brenton Bell and Dayvid Clark – The World or Nothing
Heavy rock/metal: Brett Jones, Johnny Kyi and Nigel Watts – Broken Eyes
Pop: Josh Fontaine – Holidayz
Professional: Vicki Thorn – SunDirtWater
Grand prize: Josh Fontaine – Holidayz


www.fasterlouder.com.au arrow left