Image for Foals on their new album: “It's swampy, some of the grooves are quite stinky.”

Foals on their new album:“It's swampy, some of thegrooves are quite stinky.”

Foals have unveiled details of the follow up to 2010’s Mercury nominated Total Life Forever album, telling NME that their new material is “unashamedly funk”.

Singer Yannis Philippakis told the magazine that: “There are some heavier moments and some dirtier moments. It’s swampy, some of the grooves are quite stinky. There’s a track called My Number that had a Curtis Mayfield groove which was pretty unashamedly funk, for want of a better word… We’ve always been pretty rhythmically preoccupied, but once the four-on-the-floor, hi-hat, indie disco stuff’s dead and buried with a chain of garlic around its neck, that feels like a really fertile place to go to.”

Hinting at their new direction (or at least their current playlist) Foals released the Foals Tapes compilation earlier this year featuring tracks from Caribou, Nicolas Jaar, Tony Allen, and Blood Orange.

On the release of the mix-tape keyboard player Edwin Congreave explained that: “We wanted it to reflect the taste of the whole band, so I picked music from the last five years of shared listening. We used to tour in an ex-royal mail delivery van—the DIY band cliché—and we drove ourselves to shows listening to each others playlists on a ropey old cassette player. 90s math rock, Greek folk music, Kompakt total compilations, early Metronomy demos, endless Arthur Russell… sometimes infuriatingly eclectic, but it stretched our minds wide open.”

The band hopes to release their new album in early 2013, so there’s a chance we’ll get to hear it before they touch down for their tour with the Big Day Out in January.

Foals Tapes tracklist:

Nicolas Jaar – Variations
Clark – Ted (Bibio Remix)
Dorian Concept – Tropical Hands
Condry Ziqubu – Confusion (Ma Afrika)
The Invisible – London Girl
JR Seaton – Way Savvy (Gatto Fritto Remix)
Blood Orange – Dinner
Tanner Ross – B Side
Teengirl Fantasy – Cheaters (John Talabot’s Classic Vocal Refix)
Chateau Flight feat. Marie Daulne – Superflight (Maurice Fulton Remix)
In Flagranti – Effective Placebo Affect
Tony Allen – Kilode (Carl Craig Remix)
Art Department feat. Soul Clap & Osunlade – We Call Love
Cerrone – Give Me Love (Frankie Knuckles Remix)
Arnold Jarvis – Take Some Time Out
Oni Ayhun – OAR003-B
Sepalcure – Every Day Of My Life (Jimmy Edgar Remix)
Marshall Jefferson vs. Noosa Heads – Mushrooms (Justin Martin Remix)
Julio Bashmore – Battle For Middle You (Maurice Donovan Dub)
Caribou – Sun (Midland Edit)
Konono No1 – Paradiso
Gospel Comforters – Yes God Is Real

Comments arrow left