• 22
  • 23486

Live preview of SoundwaveFestival 2012

Steel Panther

According to the English Telegraph – “Parody metal band Steel Panther resemble a rockier, much sleazier Darkness with the humour of Spinal Tap. The lyrics and between-song gags are as blue as they come and gleefully send up the fast-living lifestyles of bands such as… well… Mötley Crüe mostly. Every inch of them is daft (their song titles include 17 Girls in a Row and Eatin’ Ain’t Cheatin’ ) and the joke would soon wear thin but for the fact that the band are genuinely talented and here proved that they could play along with the big boys."

LIKELY STEEL PANTHER SET LIST:
1.Supersonic Sex Machine
2.Tomorrow Night
3.Asian Hooker
4.Gold-Digging Whore
5.Community Property
6.It Won't Suck Itself
7.Just Like Tiger Woods
8.Weenie Ride
9.17 Girls In A Row
10.Livin' on a Prayer (Bon Jovi cover)
11.Guitar Solo
(20th February – House Of Blues, West Hollywood)

SET HIGHLIGHT:
When your girlfriend leaves you join the band in their dressing room. Well it’ll be a highlight for the band (and your girlfriend) anyway.

WHAT IT WILL LOOK LIKE:

The Pretty Reckless

WHAT TO EXPECT:
According to the BBC – “Citing influences such as The White Stripes and Led Zeppelin, Momsen and cohorts rewrite Celebrity Skin ten times and have a whale of a time. The music won’t alienate Paramore fans, and Momsen’s surprisingly low, growly, deadpan voice is very effective. This is at heart a fun, dirty, insincere, cheap-thrill-laden pop record, with the raunch-riffery of Band of Skulls and lyrics which could be drawled from the mouth of a Bret Easton Ellis character."

LIKELY PRETTY RECKLESS SET LIST:
1.Since You're Gone
2.Light Me Up
3.Miss Nothing
4.Zombie
5.Just Tonight
6.Goin' Down
7.My Medicine
8.Like a Stone (Audioslave cover)
9.Seven Nation Army (The White Stripes cover)
10.Nothing Left to Lose
11.Make Me Wanna Die
12.Factory Girl
(28th November – Supporting Guns N' Roses in Canada)

SET HIGHLIGHT:
The moment when the metal fans entranced by the sight of Taylor Momsen on the stage in lingerie make the decision to order the Gossip Girl box-set as soon as they get home.

WHAT IT WILL LOOK LIKE:

BUSH

WHAT TO EXPECT
According to Consequence Of Sound’s review of the recently reunited 90s rocker’s Chicago show last August we can expect: “a pocket of hits and a trio of new tracks.” While Bush 2.0 is missing original bass player Nigel Pulsford, COS reports: “Rossdale thrives on the shiny rhythms, which translates into an engaging stage show – especially with the oldies. During Little Things, the grungy poster boy stepped into the crowd, belting out the classic hit’s breakdown amongst diehard fanatics. To add some charm, he tossed in a few lines of Talking Heads’ Once In a Lifetime into the bridge of Everything Zen, which added a nice little spin. Very cool. Rossdale & New Co. still make post-grunge rock feel sexy and hip –That’s more than Billy Corgan can say these days.”

LIKELY BUSH SET LIST
1.Machinehead
1.The Chemicals Between Us
2.All My Life
3.Greedy Fly
4.The Sound of Winter
5.Everything Zen
6.The Heart of the Matter
7.The Afterlife
8.Little Things
9.Come Together
10.(The Beatles cover)
11.Glycerine
12.Comedown
(December 3rd 2011 – ‘Next Bog Thing’ concert, US)

SET HIGHLIGHT
It may not be as cool it was a decade on, but when Rossdale belts out Comedown as the set closer it will be like 1997 all over again.

WHAT IT WILL LOOK LIKE

FasterLouder will be reporting from every Soundwave and Sidewave as of this Friday! So stay tuned to FL for in-depth galleries and reviews of all the Soundwave Festival action you can handle. And in the mean time check out all our interviews and up-to-date news at out dedicated Soundwave page here.

Comments

www.fasterlouder.com.au arrow left
43732
berlinchair101

berlinchair101 said on the 23rd Feb, 2012

Corey's not sounding so hot in those clips...

sarahanne

sarahanne said on the 23rd Feb, 2012

Gotta say, may be a little bit excited about Bush. May be.

jana80

jana80 said on the 23rd Feb, 2012



I'm not ashamed to say that I am too! Bush was one of the first cd's I ever bought...played it to death too.

Bizzy

Bizzy said on the 23rd Feb, 2012

i too would like see bush and flash back to my youth. a friend saw them recently and said they were really good

truthlies

truthlies said on the 23rd Feb, 2012

Steel Panther seem like a waste of time. Thanks, I wont even bother now.

01seb

01seb said on the 23rd Feb, 2012

This makes me even more excited for SOAD, sounds like they are going to kill it!

tyler07

tyler07 said on the 23rd Feb, 2012

Break Even breaking up makes them a must-see act. Such a good live band, so much passion and awesomeness.

snapcrackleROCK

snapcrackleROCK said on the 24th Feb, 2012

I'll see you cats there tomorrow. I'll be the guy in the black T-shirt.

Cpt_Pugwash

Cpt_Pugwash said on the 24th Feb, 2012



You just earned yourself an uppercut, whoever you are and whatever you do.

grattan

grattan said on the 25th Feb, 2012

Limp Bizkit's setup:

http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg877/scaled.php?tn=0&server=877&filename=4y1az.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640

01seb

01seb said on the 25th Feb, 2012

Just got back from Soundwave.

Soad were unbelievably good, everyone who went will say that too. Great sound, energy and a massive career spanning setlist.
Limp Bizkit were the surprise of the day for me. I wasn't expecting them to be that good, but they blew me away. Sounded great and the tribute was actually very touching.

tyler07

tyler07 said on the 26th Feb, 2012

Yesterday was alot of fun, really awesome day.
Highlights: Limp Bizkit, Slipknot, Break Even, Fireworks, and Lamb of God.
Lowlights: Black Dahlia Murder and Bush.

berlinchair101

berlinchair101 said on the 26th Feb, 2012

Sydney SW

Highlights: Bad Religion, Slipknot, The Mission In Motion, going home.

Lowlights: Marilyn Manson, SOAD, Lost Prophets, missing Steel Panther, A Day To Renember fans.

Gold Sticker for the most nostalgic/awkward/sad/comical set: Limp Bizkit

shazie

shazie said on the 26th Feb, 2012

Sydney SW

Highlights: Bad Religion, Slipknot, The Mission In Motion, going home.

Lowlights: Marilyn Manson, SOAD, Lost Prophets, missing Steel Panther, A Day To Renember fans.

Gold Sticker for the most nostalgic/awkward/sad/comical set: Limp Bizkit

Really? I loved SOAD. I was with a couple mates and we knew the words to all the songs so it made it really fun for us I guess. Slipknot put on a fantastic set, the part near the end where they got the entire stadium to crouch down and then jump up 'n mosh was really fun as well.


Also, on another note, trying to get into the D was really annoying. They kept closing it off and when you walked in it was empty for a while. I didn't like how they split up the D into 2 sections as well.

berlinchair101

berlinchair101 said on the 26th Feb, 2012

For real.

SOAD were boring. Super boring.

clone

clone said on the 27th Feb, 2012

soundwave brisbane highlights
system of a down - exceptionally good awsome finish to a good day.
circa sirvive - the guy can also sing, reminds me of cedric bixler, didn't play long enough.
dredg - also did not play long enough but a good start to the day.

good bands that i saw whole or part sets where
bush, sounded pretty good
marilyn manson, between the intoxicated rambling sounded pretty good
mastadon, expected better, but had some good moments.

worse music of the day
hellyeah - couldnt get into the country metal

random_hero

random_hero said on the 27th Feb, 2012

Raised Fist were awesome

along with hatebreed, steel panther and mastodon

grattan

grattan said on the 27th Feb, 2012

Soundwave - the only festival with Mumford and Son 'circle pits' and Christian rock Sabotage covers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9JIFCpCDCs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ePpiCQZNm2E

Oflick

Oflick said on the 28th Feb, 2012

bad religion were great, though i was up the front standing next to a girl who was either waiting for manson or soad. she spent the whole time complaining to herself, but at least she didn't heckle the band.

this is the second time i've seen them, both times the audience didn't make much noise when they came out. once they started playing they were singing along and moshing, though.

01seb

01seb said on the 28th Feb, 2012

System of a down are recording their Sydney sideshow tonight for a live cd